Ad of The Day- Lynx- “Get it on for the End of the world”

by leeshb

 

This is my ad of the day because of it’s controversy! Using the Mayan’s 2012 “end of the world” conspiracy to market their newest fragrance “Final Edition”, Lynx have taken it a step further and recreated the story of Noah’s Ark. The difference, instead of animals coming in two by two, there are women. Lots of them. (No hoorah I can imagine from a lot of viewers). I can see their aim in trying to create their most seductive fragrance, creating a happy end of the world for men with a boat full of women. HOWEVER, I am sure that many religious viewers may find this advert offending or insulting. I don’t know, I guess it’s for the ASA to decide. Lynx have done this before with their “Fallen Angels” advert last year so I guess they’re just carrying on with this controversial advertising.

There are also integrated digital elements where people are able to fill in their “last requests” before the end of the world, with a real countdown until the 21st December 2012. These requests however are a bit cheeky and are aimed at young men seeking…mainly females. I guess it grabs people’s attention and why not make a few sales before the end of the world?

Agency: Bartle Bogle Hegarty
Client: Lynx
Sector: Male Grooming
Place: Europe and United Kingdom

