The Times Augmented Reality “Guide to the Budget” for Young People

by leeshb

 

I thought that this was worth quickly sharing because I like it when technology and digital marketing gets used to its best potential. The Times have launched this video as part of their strategy to attract younger people to read their newspapers, and are changing their attitudes to believe that newspapers are less “boring” and “dull” if technology is involved. People are able to access the video via scanning their news paper with a smartphone/tablet app such as Aurasma or a QR code scanner. I especially like that the video is educational as well as interactive. Personally I really appreciated this video because I didn’t fully understand the budget and this quick overview let me know what it is without the gritty details. I think in order to get young people to fully understand and become engaged with current news stories and topics, more initiatives like this need to take place to grab their attention.

