All things communications and start-up related! All opinions are my own. Follow me on Twitter @LeeshhB

Ad of The Day- Pepsi- “Mirrors”

 

I’m sure all of you who take interest in entertainment news have already seen this advert, but I thought it would be nice to share. Pepsi have launched the “Live For Now” campaign with their brand ambassador, Beyonce Knowles, at the focus of the ad journeying through here previous stage persona’s. Pepsi as a brand are doing what they do best with this, indulging in iconic pop culture to keep their product up to date. Beyonce seems to be reigning pop culture this year too, with a huge upcoming tour, the face H&M’s summer line and her epic super bowl performance- people can’t stop talking about her. Pepsi were right to sign her, showcasing Beyonce from her “Bootylicious” days into a grown woman (the title of her new song she managed to get featured in the ad). I didn’t get the whole #BeyHereNow anticipation for the advert though through social media, was all a bit odd…

Agency: 180LA
Client: Pepsi
Sector: Beverage
Place: United States/Global

Jack Daniel’s “Sinatra Select” Experiential Marketing

I was in Gatwick Airport last week, and as I was browsing through the Duty Free I came across a wonderful “set” that had been created for Jack Daniel’s special edition of their whiskey product, “Sinatra Select”. I really love the association between Frank Sinatra and Jack Daniel’s, and even now I believe that he is still the right man for the job in terms of being a brand ambassador. The “set” I previously mentioned consisted of a backdrop explaining the connection between Sinatra and Jack Daniel’s, a shiny piano, wonderfully presented product arrangements and to top it off, a man dressed in a sharp suit with a old school microphone, singing Sinatra classics.

photo

The experience as a whole from a consumer point of view was great, I felt like I was at one of the rat pack shows for free and that Frank Sinatra’s legacy was being re-introduced to people. It’s unexpected to find a live concert going on while you’re browsing through the alcohol section, and being drawn into the world filled with class and charm that Frank Sinatra reigned was a great experience even if I am not a fan of whiskey. In terms of the target audience, I think that the majority of men would love to believe that they hold the same “swag” that Sinatra holds effortlessly when drinking a glass of Jack Daniel’s- so showing them in store that this is possible with “this is a gentleman’s drink” markets the product perfectly.

SinatraSelect-Final3

Only thing that let me down was when the impersonator was swigging from the “what I thought was Jack Daniel’s” glass, and I looked at him, and he shouted in a clear English accent “it’s only water love”. Even though he was a good singer, it took me out of the charming world instantly. But hey, you win some you lose some. A lovely in store promotion!

2013-03-30 11.03.44