Intern Diary – McCann PR, Birmingham – Week 1

by leeshb

So this week I started my 2 week internship in the PR department of McCann Birmingham as an Account Executive intern. I must say, I am having an amazing time!

I was introduced to the people in the department and given a tour of the large agency, which was exciting as it’s a big change to the last agency I worked at! On my first day I was given tasks straight away, working on a B2B client npower- researching their stakeholders and creating media lists for press releases. I used my lunchtime to get to know the other interns and some of the girls from the agency, which was really nice, and refreshing to know that young graduates are still getting hired into agencies (but it’s still very competitive!)

McCann Birmingham

McCann Birmingham

On Tuesday I was asked to do some research and develop some ideas for Touchwood shopping centre, one of the clients, for Autumn/Winter (e.g. things that could be done to promote the retailers) and for the Christmas display. This was a really great task to do because I enjoyed getting my creative juices flowing, as I haven’t really had much opportunity in the past to do this. I came up with a few ideas that I won’t spoil on here because they are yet to be reviewed haha! Also, I was asked to draft my first press release for one of the retailers at Touchwood for their magazine. I was quite scared to do this originally because I’d never written a press release before so was worried to cock it up. Luckily the tone of the release was easy to pick up, and I found myself getting into the swing of things quicker than expected (and only a few amendments had to be made which I was proud of).

Wednesday consisted of another creative task, that required me to draft social media content (both Twitter and Facebook) for one of the Touchwood campaigns named “Cirque du Solihull”. The campaign is encouraging parents to get their kids down to the shopping center to join in with some free circus workshops and also a talent show on Saturdays. This content wasn’t that hard to develop because it was mainly call to action, however it was a bit challenging drafting the same message in a different way for each time it was posted!

PR Department

PR Department

Thursday and Friday were my favorite days of the week (not because the free chocolate trolley comes round on a Friday…promise), because I got to create some really cool social media conversation calendars for some big consumer brands. One of the clients, ting, is a soft drink brand and their brand values are really cheeky and playful so creating content for their Twitter/Facebook was really fun. I drafted a calendar for August, and one of my favorite ideas was “Are you going to NotTING Hill carnival this weekend? We’re excited to listen to loud music, munch great food, and wash it down with a chilled class of ting”. I also had to draw up a conversation calendar for the Black & Decker “Home Heroes” Facebook page, which had a different tone entirely. Targeting my posts at housewives and stay at home parents was fun because I got to create pictures and questions to provoke interaction from consumers online.

Friday Chocolate Trolley!

Friday Chocolate Trolley!

Working at McCann Birmingham, even for this short amount of time, has increased my excitement about working in an agency. Watching colleagues having to deal with crisis’ with clients and attending a whole agency meeting has made me realise how important integration really is. Overall I had a really enjoyable week and am excited to see what I get to work on next week!

