Intern Diary – McCann PR, Birmingham – Week 2

by leeshb

This week flew by, I can’t believe my work experience at McCann PR is over. As the sun shone through my bedroom window every morning, I was still happy to make the journey to the office every day and learn about how the PR industry works.

I have actually really enjoyed my time at this agency, the wide variety of work that I have got involved with has been great in order to understand what account executives have to deal with on a daily basis. On Monday I did my first set of tailored press releases for the client, Old Jamaica, and had to tackle my worst task – cold calling/selling in. Although at my last internship I did this a bit, it had been a while since then and it felt like back to stage 1. Although it was scary calling the journalists, I was lucky because the press release was about a supermarket event- meaning it was more likely to be picked up to gain coverage. After doing this loads more times, I felt more comfortable in creating conversation. Luckily the sun has been beautifully shining all week, so eating lunch outside has been a must!

image (1)

Where I enjoyed lunch in the sun

Over Tuesday and Wednesday, I found myself tailoring and issuing press releases for npower ‘Health through Warmth” scheme, in every area all over the country. Although a long task, every account exec has to do this regularly, and it was interesting to see how many press releases actually get issued and then how much coverage is gained from that.

On Thursday I was issuing press releases for Vauxhall and it was cool to find out about the Siri Eye technology that their ADAM model has before it being in the press. That’s one perk about PR, you’re updated with news instantly – be it good or bad. I ended my week writing a few press releases for Vauxhall and David Wilson Homes, which was great to develop my writing skills and learn to pick up the “tone” of a piece quickly.

On my last day we went to the pub as a department and it was really nice, especially because I had to say bye to my intern buddy Meggan (who I wish the best time in Vancouver). I will be sad to leave this internship even after such a short space of time, the people have been lovely and I’ve learnt so much about integration as well as just public relations.

image (2)

My lovely intern buddy Meggan

Hopefully this has been insightful and not too boring about my internship at McCann Birmingham. My next internship starts in August at M&C Saatchi and I’m excited to see what it holds for me!

[Side note: If you would like to read about my first week at McCann Birmingham, click here]

